Drugged

“CRAWL.  NOW!”


Everything is blurry, come on, focus. Blink. Blink again. Why can’t I see clearly? Wait. This room and contents are unfamiliar. Where am I?

Think.

Why can’t I recall last night or any night? It’s like the memories are there, but so far away that I can’t access them. Okay, time to get out of bed and figure this out. I can do this. Just roll to the side and grab the edge. Why do I have to make such a conscious effort to do things that are simple?

Think.

My heart beat is quickening, wow…I can feel it pounding in my chest…something is wrong. Very wrong. Okay, calm that panic welling from somewhere deep within, stand up! Whoa…don’t let go, need to hold something so I don’t fall down. I’m swaying back-n-forth if I let go. What is going on?

Think.

Door. Two steps…lean against the wall, I got this.

Door is ajar, thank God! Need to walk out..but walking is just impossible. My legs aren’t working because I’m stumbling. It’s like they belong to someone else.

Think.

JUST MOVE!  Okay, I’m inching along.  Oh, the world is tilting around me and zooming out and in.  It’s making me dizzy. Close your eyes!  Ouch! Okay, I’ve fallen on my knees on hard ground.  Stop thinking about how much it hurts.  oh, it really does – did I break something?

THINK.

Remember details.  Is that cobblestone? Everything is distorted, like Alice in Wonderland. I’m in an outdoor hallway. No, is this an Alley way? The end of the tunnel looks so far away, is it really that far? Can I get there before danger gets me?

THINK!

Start Crawling.

NOW!


Sue Vincent’s #writephoto challenge / week 12-7 Portal / 321 word count

15 thoughts on “Drugged

Got anything to say?