In Space, Dancing with Myself

SoCS – Title of last book read / or book closest to you

I rarely read as in my spare time, I’d rather be writing on my blog and responding after reading other blogger posts.  As most of you know, we are in process of moving, which requires packing.  And ultimately, reducing and selling crap (or giving away.)  My daughter has some old books that she is quickly going through and giving to me to sell.  I looked at the book she just gave me (just last night), lying right next to my typing hands…and like Sheriff Buford T. Justice would say,

sumbitch

…because it’s Flat Stanley.  What the F am I going to say about Flat Stanley? Well, for starters…he’s FLAT… as a sheet of paper, and his last name is Lambchop.  I see tons of bloggers aspiring to be writers, and then you see this and think – wow, that shouldn’t  be too difficult to get published.  There’s a whole series of these guys, and in this particular book he goes to space.  I’ll be making another parent happy real soon, because we have an entire group of these books that I will be selling probably for $5.00. (there will be lots of interested!  and Next! on the Facebook online garage sales)

…and that’s about all I have to say on that.  I quickly scanned my room, as I already emptied and boxed the book case contents.  However, one remained that my husband is currently reading, that was the last book I read

Billy IDOL “Dancing with myself”

That’s more like it.  It’s a New York Times best seller!  And if you like his music, it’s a very interesting read.  It’s well written, and he’s been around longer than you think.  He talks about wearing bell-bottoms, which he referred to as Flares.  How he hung out with Siouxsie and the Banshees and they all kind of made it big around the same time.  His Rebel Yell song title was inspired by a ghastly Whiskey the  Rolling Stones were drinking when he happened to be in the same recording studio building.  Idol said it was terrible stuff, but always thought it was a great song title.  Oh, and his white hair was an accident, but decided to keep it!

It’s amazing he didn’t die at a young age from all the drinking and DRUGS.  He even acknowledges that.  He nearly did die in a motorcycle accident in Los Angeles.  Consequently, had to turn down the role of the Terminator in T2 – which he would have been AWESOME!  Except, he couldn’t do the running scenes.   We’ve seen him a couple/few times in concert.  We saw him while he was still using his cane and then just a few months ago.  Still good, still HOT.  He looks to be in great shape!  He’s the dude that both women and men love.


Stream of Consciousness Saturday (SoCS) prompt / title of the book you’re currently reading or the one sitting closest to you / no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

3 thoughts on “In Space, Dancing with Myself

  1. Funny, I’d never heard of Flat Stanley until last night’s Rachel Maddow show. She referenced Flat Stanley when talking about Ohio Senator Rob Portman’s constituents using a flat, cardboard cutout of Portman to protest, since the Senator seems reluctant to meet with his constituents.

    Liked by 1 person

Got anything to say?

