By the Light of the moon or the strike of noon

I’m usually not a poetry fan.  When we studied it in high school, I just never “got” it, and my understanding didn’t really improve in college either.

What, are those flower petals supposed to represent… a woman’s vagina and freedom?  What?

That stanza meant they wanted to go to war?  Really?  How?

I’ve come to the conclusion, I’m just not “deep.”  I’m on the “fast track” of life.  One of my early vocabulary/spelling words that was applicable to me… loquacious.  Never forgot the word.  I have a lot to say, and my brain sends thoughts to me 100 MPH…so I speak quickly and am often onto the next subject within minutes.  So, I prefer to be straight forward, tell me what you’re trying to say (cleverly, so it’s interesting) and be done with it.  (same with blogging)

This includes reading books. I don’t have time to read all the description of the meadow.  The smell of honeysuckle was in the air, ground moist, while they embraced.  Got it.  Don’t need to read a huge paragraph that describes this meadow.  And how a battle occurred there a century prior and the ground is ravaged.  Unless this helps me understand later why the land opened up and swallowed the lovers.  Otherwise, to me there’s no purpose providing details on the ground.  I skip over all the adjectives and become frustrated.  All right already, give me enough to make it a good story, plenty of action, but not overly descriptive.  Let’s go.

Noor Poetry - Work in ProgressSo, the purpose of this blog post is I find the blogosphere is inundated with poets.  I don’t follow any on my feeds.  To me, you’ve read one, you’ve read them all…because most of the time, I don’t get it or don’t care.  EXCEPT, until I stumbled across this little gem.

Her name is Noor.  She told me it’s pronounced similar to “Noon,” It’s Arabic for light, which is very fitting for her.  She is very talented, a word smith. Noor has the gift to say so much, with very few words. When I read her work, I get it without a lot of brain effort.  It easily flows, and am always amazed with thoughts:

Yeah, I’ve felt that way before! Wow, how wonderfully expressed in such a short stanza.  I totally get what she’s saying.  How did she come up with that?  Love it, want to borrow that phrase!

Noor is the only poetry blog I am following at the moment.  Attached is her recent post, that links to her blog, The Think Blots.  Swing by for a visit, you might enjoy her expression of life and relate.  I’ve added her to my favorites page.

8 thoughts on “By the Light of the moon or the strike of noon

  1. I just finished reading a book (not poetry) that I know placed a huge emphasis on the scenery and race, but I literally could not tell you what they “really” meant. I’m sorry, but if it takes you a page and a half to describe a barren desert, I just don’t have time for you. Thankfully, I was able to understand the poem, so I’ll just make my way over to her page!

    Like

    1. Hahahah. That must have been SOME barren desert. Was there a crazy sand storm that happened, where all the prior description was integral to the story?

      Some of her poetry is more deep (and over my head), but there are many posts I do stop and ponder and go “that’s interesting.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly what you mean! When I read too many words describing a scenic view, all that I would have actually registered would be “The grass is green, the sky is blue. The end.”
    I’m on my way to check out her blog! It sounds really interesting. 😀
    P.S. My phone is fixed FINALLY! *dances around like a mad woman*

    Liked by 2 people

Got anything to say?

