Kids are making sales agreements?

Recently, my 5th grader’s school celebrated “Colonial Days,” where they wear clothes during that time period, and eat food like they did (off pie tins) and participate in activities such as, churning butter, and making candles, etc.  And it was discussed how they would pay using the bartering system- the exchanging of goods.

That was a few days ago and, today, my husband took the kids to school and I had pick up duty.  I didn’t see what they are wearing or took with them this morning.  Upon arriving home, I noticed my 3rd grader carrying a stuffed dog and a mini pillow.

“Honey, why did you take a stuffed animal and pillow to school today?”

I was told they had some sort of special “reading” event where they take their favorite animal, blanket and have time out from regular daily work to read as a reward for good behavior.  At that point, she turns to her brother,

“Oh, I have your blanket.”  Wolf Blanket

When inquired why she took his blanket when she has plenty of her own, the response was,

“He charged me $2.00 and I was allowed to take his new blanket.  So it’s okay, mom.” 

I thought they were pulling my leg.  Who’s idea was that, I wondered. Did they shake on it?  Then I remembered the Colonial Days and her brother…

“Did you really charge your sister $2.00 to borrow your blanket?” 

My 5th grader smiles at me, both seemed fine with the situation, and said

“yeah.  What, mom?  It’s my blanket.  She didn’t have anything to exchange that I wanted except money.”

Honey, I think $2.00 is a lot to charge your sister.  I can’t believe you made her pay.”

Upon receiving the blanket back, my 11-year-old inspects it and says “Okay, I’ll give you a dollar back…”  Apparently, there was a deposit and the blanket was returned, and in good condition.  So it only cost a buck.  I can’t correct that.  That’s the real world.  (and at a reasonable price)

Clever.  I guess I should talk to my son about being gracious and lending without charging his loved ones, but then I remember it was his sister?    Most of the time they aren’t ‘feelin’ the love for one another.  AND It was a deal they worked out together, and most importantly, independently,  and both parties are happy.  The blanket was washed to make my son even happier and is currently tumbling in the dryer.

Thank you Colonial Days.  This was a good lesson about the real world. (and it is a super cool blanket)

 

One thought on “Kids are making sales agreements?

Got anything to say?

